AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Error Message - define industry model layers

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
473 Views, 3 Replies

Error Message - define industry model layers

Morning, Started a drawing from Electric NA template. Data Connected to tax lots and road names. Placed transformers in the drawing using Electric Ribbon Device, did a Save as, when bringing up the saved file and go to add the transformers to the container, I get an error message "

Command:
ELADDFROMMAP

Please define industry model layers in the map first.
Feature Container [All/Segment/Duct/Conductor/dEvices/sTructures/cIrcuit] <All>: A

Please define industry model layers in the map first.

Command: *Cancel*

Any ideas on what to do?

I am new to Map so I am unsure of what it wants me to do, I have tried going on the TASK PANE/Display Manager/ right click on Electric North America and update. which has no effect. Also refreshing the layer TRANSFORMER has no effect. 

Any help will be appreciated. 

Have a Great Day! B"H

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi @Anonymous,

In the Autodesk AutoCAD Map 3D 2​016 Readme, the answer is provided for the issue you are running into.  With Industry Model drawings, when a crash or some other unclean close has occurred the next time the Industry Model drawing is opened, all layers will incorrectly be displayed as read-only.  This may result in temporary files not being deleted from a temporary folder upon exiting the AutoCAD Map 3D application.  

Solution:

1. Start the “Run…” dialog and enter “%temp%” and click OK
  2. Locate the folder named “Embedded”. (This folder can contain n-1 sub folders where temporary file(s) are stored.)
  3. Remove all files and sub folders under the “Embedded” folder.