Community
AutoCAD LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

elevation issue when drawing new polylines, how to getthem to stick to elevation 0

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
m.dekoningQ799Y
3447 Views, 12 Replies

elevation issue when drawing new polylines, how to getthem to stick to elevation 0

I am new to autocad LT, i used to work with the full version.

For me it is not a problem that autocad LT has no 3d funcionality, but when i import drawings that have objects and lines with different heights every polyline i draw using snap snaps to the Z level of the object.

In the full version there is a button that can let snap ignore the Z value in LT there isnt that option.

My problem is that my lines are all in different planes so its impossible to use intersection or cut or fillet them. Also i fear that area's dont measure correct because they are not in a flat plane.

How can i tell autocad LT not only draw at elevation 0? its impossible to flatten every incoming drawing (and autocad LT does not have the flatten command)

thnx in advance,

Martijn

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
user181
in reply to: m.dekoningQ799Y

Try setting OSNAPZ to 1. 

EESignature

Message 3 of 13
steven-g
in reply to: user181

There is no OSNAPZ in LT.

Message 4 of 13
steven-g

Unfortunately, that is one of the little problems we LT users have to live with, snaps will snap to Z levels on existing geometry and there is no way to stop that happening. Your best option would be to ask the people sending you drawings to flatten them first. Or go through each drawing yourself and use the properties palette to remove as much of the Z geometry as you can. Yes full AutoCAD has those tools but those tools are why you pay a premium price

Message 5 of 13
m.dekoningQ799Y
in reply to: steven-g

Thanks for the reply.