Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Solving graphics card quirks (spiderwebs, add in crashing)

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
227 Views, 3 Replies

Solving graphics card quirks (spiderwebs, add in crashing)

Hello everyone,  I'm a help desk professional, so I apologize if I don't have in depth working knowledge of experienced autocad users. 

We have a small team of designers where I work.  I've gotten tickets like the following .

"Erroneous linework that looked like a spiderweb covered the entire drawing. Same issue when opening other drawings. It also appeared what trying to plot. AutoCAD forums suggest that it is a graphics card issue. Lines went away after restarting computer twice."

The problem is, this guy has what we though was a beefy system

Lenovo Thinkpad P50

Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1505M v5 @ 2.80GHz

16 GB RAM

NVIDIA Quadro M2000M 4Gb

Separately,  an add-in we use called CAP by 2020 software will crash or have trouble displaying correctly with larger files.   Which does point to a system/graphics card issue.  Am I wrong in suspecting his system should be able to handle this without issue?    The page that used to have recommended specs and drivers is missing,  (http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/syscert?id=18844534&siteID=123112 )   So, I'm at a bit of a dead end researching this.

Are there options besides replacing the graphics card?

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
rkmcswain
in reply to: Anonymous

What version of AutoCAD?
You can check for display adapter compatibility and find the supported/recommended driver(s) here:

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/certified-graphics-hardware

I suspect you have already seen this?

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/autocad/troubleshooting/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/Unwant...

R.K. McSwain     | CADpanacea | on twitter
Message 3 of 4
Anonymous
in reply to: rkmcswain