Did you mean: 

AutoCAD - Export to Excel by external program like python

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
3212 Views, 4 Replies

AutoCAD - Export to Excel by external program like python

Team I am very new to autocad. For a project I am trying to extract information from the cad drawing .dwg file. For an example I have an electrical layout of a house. I need to count how many light points are present in the drawing. I need to access the drawing by some programming language like python. I have seen that by export to excel feature in autocad gives me a tabular list of the components, so can i run this export command by some external program using autocad. Or any other alternative is available?

[ The subject line of this post has been edited for clarity by @handjonathan Original: export to excel from autocad drawing by external program like python ]

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Alfred.NESWADBA
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

to export data you can use command _DATAEXTRACTION (>>>details<<<).

If needed you can start the command also using COM and accessing AutoCAD via COM/ActiveX (>>>details<<<). There are more complex options too, however, then you'll need to learn the internal AutoCAD structure.

- alfred -

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Alfred NESWADBA
ISH-Solutions GmbH / Ingenieur Studio HOLLAUS
www.ish-solutions.at ... blog.ish-solutions.at ... LinkedIn ... CDay 2024
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

(not an Autodesk consultant)
Message 3 of 5
Anonymous
in reply to: Alfred.NESWADBA

Hi Alfred,

Thanks a lot for your reply.

If I understood it correctly, then the VB Script will be called inside the Autocad, like Macro in excel.