AutoCAD Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inward Fillet in 3D

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
-Ryan-
1228 Views, 4 Replies

Inward Fillet in 3D

I'm able to fillet a cylinder's edge.

Fillet, Radius .10Fillet, Radius .10

But, I can't get it to fillet backwords. Here's a pic of what I'm trying to do in 3D, three cylinders on top of each other.

Fillet, Radius.jpg

How can I get the middle cylinder to fillet inwards?

Here's a look at the idea.

inwards fillet.JPG

Thanks for your help.

Ryan

Tags (3)
Labels (1)
  • 3d
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
David_W_Koch
in reply to: -Ryan-

Are you looking to create something like this?

2021-10-10_CylinderWithInwardFillet.png

I am no expert on solids modeling in AutoCAD, but until someone else who is comes along and proves me wrong, I will go out on a limb and state that the FILLETEDGE command will not create a convex fillet.  To create the middle section above, I modeled a cylinder, with the radius as desired at the top and bottom of the final form.  Then I modeled a torus, of the same radius as the cylinder, and with a tube radius of one half the height of the cylinder.  With both pieces' geometric centers at the same point, I then used the SUBTRACT command to subtract the torus from the cylinder. 

The image below shows the cylinder, the torus (separated for clarity), and the result of the subtraction.

2021-10-10_Cylinder_Torus_Subtraction.png

You may already be aware of how to do that, and were looking for a way to directly edit the cylinder.  If so, I cannot help with that.

David Koch
AutoCAD Architecture and Revit User
Blog | LinkedIn
EESignature

Message 3 of 5
Anonymous

David, thanks for your reply.