Announcements
Due to scheduled maintenance, the Autodesk Community will be inaccessible from 10:00PM PDT on Oct 16th for approximately 1 hour. We appreciate your patience during this time.
Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rendering flickering issues

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
3643 Views, 8 Replies

Rendering flickering issues

Ello peeps, I have another problem but this time its in regards to my mental ray render. I'm relatively new to 3Ds Max, and I need help with some flickering issues within my render. Im not sure how to stop the light flickering problem, can somebody please help me out? Thank you. Heres a low quality render sample to give u an idea of whats going on. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=otB59MWHkUM

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

We'll need a little more info about your scene.

Which Sampling Method are you using in mental ray, Classic / Raytraced or Unified / Raytraced?

(Render Setup, Renderer tab)

If in Classic mode try setting your min saples to 1 and your max to 16, If in Unified mode (the 2014 default) crank your quality up to 1.0 and re-render.

How many samples are you using for the reflection in your materials? Also, what kind of material are you using?

If it's an arch & design leave the samples at 8 when using Unified sampling, for Classic mode increase them to something like 24 or 32.

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous