Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Render error in refractive glass - unwanted shards appearing

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1003 Views, 6 Replies

Render error in refractive glass - unwanted shards appearing

Hi, 

I am working with a 700 frame animation of a glass bifocal lens. A handful of the frames are rendering with the bifocal segment showing these...shards. See attachment. What can be causing this? Is it something in my render settings that I need to change?

I'm using the mental ray renderer. The problem material is the Arch & Design Glass (Solid Geometry).

I'm brand new to 3ds Max and brand new to this forum, so please let me know what other information is required to help troubleshoot this problem.

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Brock_Lafond
in reply to: Anonymous

It could be a number of issues.

How thick is the glass? Is it made to real world scale?

Is the mesh topology clean? Try subdividing the mesh to smooth it out more.

Alias/Wavefront Maya 3 -> Discreet 3DS Max 4 -> ...
Win7 Pro 64
EVGA Classified Super Record 2
Dual Xeon Hexa-Core, 48GB RAM
GTX 780 x 2
Corona Renderer, mental Ray
Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: Brock_Lafond

@Brock_Lafond wrote:

It could be a number of issues.

How thick is the glass? Is it made to real world scale?

Is the mesh topology clean? Try subdividing the mesh to smooth it out more.

Brock- Thank you for your response.

The glass segment is only about 1 mm thick at its thickest part. It is built to real world scale. Is that not the way to go?

The mesh topology is clean as a whistle. And it's pretty well subdivided. And the normals are all pointing exactly as they should. I've attached a screen shot of the isolated glass segment with normals showing -- just in case that provides any insight.