Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I view AOV in Arnold?

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
thor98_
2115 Views, 10 Replies

How do I view AOV in Arnold?

Hello,

I have been struggling very much on understanding how to view AOV's. I'm new to Arnold and I'm running some fairly heavy scenes where I need to reduce noise. I want to view AOV's to quickly identify which component is causing the noise.

Can someone please enlighten me on how to do this. I saw on a Maya thread that it's possible there. Hopefully it's possible on Max too?

https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/maya-forum/aov-viewer-for-arnold/td-p/6866224

Thor Nielsen

3D Generalist

EESignature

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
madsd
in reply to: thor98_

Render in Active shade , production mode has no option to view AOVs ad hoc.

Message 3 of 11
thor98_
in reply to: madsd

Mads, I'm going to check this out later today. Thank you very much. It has been very frustrating to me.

Tak 👍

Thor Nielsen

3D Generalist

EESignature

Message 4 of 11
thor98_

I'm a little lost as for setting up AOV's, and I'm talking regular ones like indirect lighting etc. Do I just need to render the AOV in AOV panel, and then render ActiveShade for me to view it?

Or is there more to it? Do I need to set up shaders as well?

Thanks for your help

Thor Nielsen

3D Generalist

EESignature

Message 5 of 11
madsd

Just open the AOV manager window in the render settings.
Then drag and drop the AOV you want to render in the active shader window.

Here I added a couple of different.

You can also write your own custom AOV channels, works very well if you code OSL shaders and so on -->

ccc.png

Message 6 of 11
thor98_