Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Self Illumination map not rendering

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
2440 Views, 8 Replies

Self Illumination map not rendering

Hi, I have 3d studio max 2017. Im pretty new to all this, sorry for the newbie question, i did look to see if others had this problem and couldn't find anything... I have a kiosk model with a TV screen, i put a arch and design material with self illumination checked, All worked ok.

I imported the model into my main scene, and it just stopped working.

Hopefully screenshots can help.

withIllumination.PNGwithoutIllumination.PNG

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
kennyj
in reply to: Anonymous

Hello @Anonymous!

Have you tried ramping up the intensity (or Luminance) of the Self-Illumination?  Run it up high to see if it shows up, then tone it back down to find the balance you need.  It is likely the lighting of your main scene is washing out the self illumination glow.

Hope this helps,

Kenny

Message 3 of 9
Anonymous
in reply to: kennyj

hi @kennyj I had given up on the problem, started on antoher area on the project and all of a sudden it started working in the render, i have no idea what happened but i must have done something, ha... Thanks for your help!

Message 4 of 9
Alfred.DeFlaminis
in reply to: Anonymous

Well done @Anonymous, you managed to solve it before I could even get in here.  Nice work!

Best Regards,

Message 5 of 9
darawork

Yeah, usually I have to boost the dimmer by about 10,000,000cd to get it shining. What was once a candle needs to turn into a neutron star for it to appear in a scene with a daylight system.

Darawork
AutoDesk User
Windows 10/11, 3DS Max 2022/24, Revit 2022, AutoCad 2024, Dell Precision 5810/20, ASUS DIY, nVidia Quadro P5000/RTX 5000/GTX760

Message 6 of 9