Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stretch / Pull together folding structure

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
962 Views, 13 Replies

Stretch / Pull together folding structure

Hey guys,

I'm quite new to 3dsmax and have some problems modeling/animating an articulated bus. Especially these folding structure around the joints.

I recently modelled this folding structure but I want to use it for animation as well. E.g it should stretch and pull together when driving around bends.

I already tried it with skin modifier but I don't know if it's the correct approach...

I hope you can help me. 

Thanks in advance. 

Best regards.

Labels (2)
13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
RobH2
in reply to: 1023681

Maybe a 'Hose' from 'Extended Primitives' could work. They don't have a lot of controls but it might get you by. They seem to work best in only one axis but if your bus just articulates from side to side and not up and down it might suffice. 

I've attached a video and my test file. See the Max Documentation for more help with it. 

Rob Holmes

EESignature

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
3ds Max (2023-2025), V-Ray 6.2, Ryzen 9 3950-X Processor, DDR 4 128MB, Gigabyte Aorus X570 Master motherboard, Sabrent Rocket NVMe 4.0 M.2 drives, NVidia RTX 4090, Space Pilot Pro, Windows 11 Pro x64, Tri-Monitor, Cintiq 13HD, Windows 11 x64
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Message 3 of 14
RobH2