Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Quickly add accurate curvature on a high poly surface

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
627 Views, 6 Replies

Quickly add accurate curvature on a high poly surface

Hi guys,

I am new to 3DS Max/Modeling and I have a problem creating an object with curvatures going along 2 different axis (for example one curvature moving along x-axis, one along y-axis).

Normally its not a big problem. Create your first curvature (doesnt matter what method) and then the other.

Here is the problem:

Please look on the attached example image.

On the right the object with the first curvature created.

On the left an example of curvature I want to add to the selected side of the other object.

As you can see the first created curvature (on the right) needs many vertices and also the curvature on the left that I want to add should be very special and consume a lot of vertices.
Moving all the vertices one by one is very time consuming.

What would be your solution?

Things I have thought of:

• Boolean (also very time consuming), so not an option
  • FFD (doesnt work well with so many vertices - isnt very exact)
  • As mentioned moving vertex by vertex (not an option)
  • Splines maybe to match the x-postions of the surface for each vertex (in a fast way)???
  • Some way to snap many vertices to a surface quickly??? (with axis constraints)

Please also note that the oject on the right might have some other stuff attached, so some methods might not work/be difficult.

I am thankful for any help.

Wish you a successful start into the week!
Marcus

Tags (1)
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
Irshad_Shah_3dArtist
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi friend..

Here is an example to easily create curvature you are looking for.

Thank you

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous