Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Elementary Stuff - Confusion about edge loop

12 REPLIES 12
SOLVED
Message 1 of 13
betaW8244
674 Views, 12 Replies

Elementary Stuff - Confusion about edge loop

Hello,

I’m a total noob coming from Blender and I have a question which I assume refers to pretty elementary stuff, yet I haven’t figured out a solution.

I have this internal edge loop, from which I would like to create a single face within the same mesh. I tried to use “cap poly” and nothing happens. Bridge also didn’t work. I resorted to “Create Shape from Selection” and after converting the spline to editable poly, attach it to the initial mesh. In Blender that would be achieved by hitting the “F” (fill) button with the edge loop selected.

Do I have a misconception regarding the proper 3ds Max workflow, am I using the tools wrong or both?

Your help is greatly appreciated.

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
Byteman
in reply to: betaW8244

Although there may be some, way more easier methods, I would select the mid segment (all 4 edges) and apply a Chamfer command to those edges. That creates two duplicates of the 4 segments at each side of the first. There is one checkbox in the Chamfer interface, which is checked in the image. The second one from the bottom. That checkbox creates an empty area with parallel borders. 

Byteman_0-1696867356961.png

Select those borders in Border Sub-object selection mode and Press Cap. (You can see below, Border and Cap and the place of Chamfer, too)

Byteman_1-1696867751365.png