Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

combine editable polys from terrain fbx import

32 REPLIES 32
SOLVED
Message 1 of 33
JamesMaeding
2890 Views, 32 Replies

combine editable polys from terrain fbx import

I am fairly new to 3ds max so need some pointers. The issues mentioned here will be very common to civil engineers and architects so we need to get this ironed out.

I am starting with an fbx that came from infraworks.

The fbx comes into max as 4 editable "terrain" meshes with textures from draped images applied, no problem.

What I have to do is add the base and side edges to form a water tight set of triangles I can 3d print.

I read the matterhackers post which says to convert to editable poly, then select the outer boundary and extrude down then cap:

https://www.matterhackers.com/news/how-to-3d-print-a-map-of-anywhere-in-the-world

I am not new at making terrains and write my own tools to deal with them in acad/bricscad, but manipulating in 3ds max is what I am learning.

There are 4 meshes from the fbx , but I am sure larger models will have many more.

I am thinking I need to combine the meshes into one editable poly, so I can select the border edges and extrude.

The attach command does this, but the 4 pieces are still elements so the boundaries are like 4 tiles still.

I do not want to degrade the mesh at all by a resample type operation.

Can anyone explain what I should be looking into to "weld" the tries into one big blob so I can select the true outer boundary?

I am not sure if the 4 tiles remain because there are micro gaps between the tile edges, or if attach is meant to preserve the original pieces.