In the opening window when you open another scene (.max)
there should be a checkbox to switch the actual project to the one that .max belong to.
that way the project and the .max scene would be synced.
In case some people want to open a .max without switching projects this should be a checkbox option (also with a general parameter in preference to be always on/off by default).