Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get trail/trace/line between a workingplane and a body that cut eachother

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
a.wassum
291 Views, 8 Replies

How to get trail/trace/line between a workingplane and a body that cut eachother

Hey togehter,

I have a curved body (exteriorplate) that cuts a working plane. I want the trail/trace/line where these to things cut eachother. Im new at Inventor but already used Catia V5 for a longer time.

Im thankfull for every advise ,

Greetings Alex

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
TheCADWhisperer
in reply to: a.wassum

@a.wassum wrote:

I want the trail/trace/line where these to things cut each other. 

Start a new 3D Sketch.

Invoke the include intersection.

Attach your assembly (or a simplified dummy assembly) if you can’t figure it out.

Message 3 of 9
-niels-
in reply to: TheCADWhisperer

Or start a new 2D sketch on your workplane and use "project cut edges"?

niels_0-1664885722215.png

Niels van der Veer
Inventor professional user & 3DS Max enthusiast
Vault professional user/manager
The Netherlands

Message 4 of 9
blandb

Depending on what exactly you have, if you start a 3D sketch and choose "Intersection Curve". You should be able to choose the surface and the plane > OK. Now you should have a curve that is the intersection of the 2 entities.

Autodesk Certified Professional
Message 5 of 9
a.wassum

Thanks to all of you, appreciate it a lot. At the end I managed to do it with blandb´s solution. The problem was that I tried to do it in an assembly, so I created a simplified part out of my two parts that cut eachother.

Message 6 of 9
blandb