Community
VRED Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s VRED Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular VRED topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Questions about GGX shader support ..

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
879 Views, 4 Replies

Questions about GGX shader support ..

Do you plan to support GGX shaders on "TRUELIGHT" materials in VRED?

Hi. I am studying VRED rendering.

I have tested it several times and expect all materials of "TRUELIGHT" to be based on the PHONG shader.

I would like to support the GGX shader for a realistic metallic look.

Unfortunately, currently VRED supports GGX shaders only in "X-Rite" and "OCS".

Why does VRED not support GGX shader by default?

Do you have plans for future support?

I look forward to your reply. Thank you.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
michael_nikelsky
in reply to: Anonymous

Our shaders use a slightly modified Ashikhmin-Shirley model, not a phong model. GGX did not exist when we developed our materials, it is a fairly new model. Sadly it is quite difficult to switch to a new BRDF Model without changing the look of the scene and that is an absolute Nogo for our customers. 

However, there is an undocumented and unsupported(!!!) option to switch to GGX for the plastic material by changing the BRDFType to 2 in the Node Editor. This does not change the IBL in OpenGL and Precomputed modes but only the evaluation of lightsources and when using Full  global illumination mode. 

But as I said, this is unusupported and we might change the behaviour at any time in the future and some features might not even be supported correctly, so I would not recommend to use it in any sort of production environment. 

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Nikelsky
Sr. Principal Engineer
Message 3 of 5

and that is an absolute Nogo for our customers.

NOT US!!!! 😉

But yes I know we are not your typical customer.