Community
VRED Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s VRED Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular VRED topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Python Script - Push Button

6 REPLIES 6
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1031 Views, 6 Replies

Python Script - Push Button

Please bare with me, I'm new to python scripting but have been working with VRED for the last 4 years.

I have set up a Menu with Push Buttons that activate different Variant Sets that I have created. What I would like to do is......When I push one of the buttons, i would like to have the activated Button highlight so I can see which button/variant is active. Is there a command that i could plug in that would make this happen? Any response would be appreciated.

Thanks!
6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
j.kaestle
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

define a Material Switch in the Material Editor with the highlighted and the non-highlighted material. Drag & drop it to the Variant Set to the tab "Material" and to the node in the Scenegraph. In the State column you can define which material is shown when selecting the Variant set. So Python is not necessarily required. You can also explore the example here:

https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/vred-products/learn-explore/caas/simplecontent/content/adding...

If you want to controll the Material Variant by script, you must also aplly a material Switch to the Variant Set as described above. Then you can select the Material Variant with the Python command

selectMaterialVariant(name, state)

Name = Name of the Material Switch

State = the Name of the state

Regards

Jochen

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous

Jochen,