Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Preceding a command with a minus problem

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
657 Views, 5 Replies

Preceding a command with a minus problem

Not sure why, but when I include the line (command "layer" "s" "0") in my code (on my Office PC) it does exactly as I expect and the current layer is set to "0", however, if I do the same thing on my PC at home it seems to fail. The 'Layer' dialog box appears, and I get the "Command Not Recognised "s"" error appear. but if I place a minus before the command ie. (command "-layer" "s" "0"), it's fine. I guess there's a variable or something that suppresses dialogs when lisp is being executed, but in my experience with lisp (about 10 years) it's never caused a problem. I've never used the "-" before the command, and it's always worked fine. If anyone can offer an explanation it would be very much appreciated. I'm using 'Acad Map 3D 2009' on both PCs. Cheers
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
scot-65
in reply to: Anonymous

98% of the time I use ".layer" and apply this structure to all other commands that appear inside a LISP expression.
Use -layer when working with script.

Scot-65
A gift of extraordinary Common Sense does not require an Acronym Suffix to be added to my given name.

Message 3 of 6
Anonymous

I agree that is a solution (putting the minus in front), but I'm just curious as to why it behaves differently on different PCs running the same version of AutoCAD. The only difference is the OS, one is running Vista and the other XP. - Guess I'll just have to replace those lines in my code - probably several hundred of them!
Message 4 of 6
Anonymous

P.S. You can achieve the same by (setvar "CLAYER" "0")
Message 5 of 6
Kent1Cooper

...with one difference that I'm aware of, which may only sometimes matter:

(command "_.layer" "_set" "whatever" "")

will turn the new current Layer ON if it's OFF, whereas

(setvar 'clayer "whatever")