Did you mean: 

Converting Exported DWG Layers to Layers Preset in Master Template

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
492 Views, 3 Replies

Converting Exported DWG Layers to Layers Preset in Master Template

Hello Everyone,

First time Visitor / First Time Poster ... Thank you in advance for assistance ...

My Situation ...

I have a master template completely setup w specific Layers (and Layer Properties)

I use a range of design software that creates / exports out .dwg files, and those .dwg files have preset layer names from the design software. 

I want to copy the design software's export elements and paste them into my master template, and when I do so I want to run a LISP to automatically change the export's layers (and Layer Properties) to certain Layers in my master template. 

Currently, I am doing it the old school way of Match Properties, which is long and tedious.

I would also like to run a LISP when i am done that will purge the preset layers from the design software.

Can anyone assist me?

Thanks everyone ...

Labels (4)
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Sea-Haven
in reply to: Anonymous

You should be able to just do a change layer properties, I would use a text file a little easier to develop and add rather than a big list inside code.

This is an example opposite to your request it has coded program layer variable names but end user desired layer name plus color and LT.

Newname         old name     Col Line Type
ceiling--2      ceiling--2      6   continuous
ceiling--3      ceiling--3      6   continuous
ceiling--5      ceiling--5      6   continuous
centreline--2   centreline--2   4   center    
centreline--3   centreline--3   5   center    
centreline--5   centreline--5   6   center    
const--1        const--1        1   continuous
const--3        const--3        1   continuous
dim2            dim--2          2   continuous
dim3            dim--3          2   continuous

A bit of test code