Structural Bridge Design Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Structural Bridge Design Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Structural Bridge Design topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Load dispersal through fill above box underpass

2 REPLIES 2
SOLVED
Message 1 of 3
lee_williams1
441 Views, 2 Replies

Load dispersal through fill above box underpass

Good afternoon,

I am relatively new to SBD and I am currently using SBD 2022.

I am assessing a box underpass to CS 454/CS 455 to try to improve the capacity of the structure. The proposed method of analysis of the reinforced concrete box underpass is to use 3D elastic FEA. I have created the model and I am using the influence surface generator and load optimiser to determine worst-case loading scenarios for ALL Model 1 loads (I will be applying HB, SV, and SOV models too).

However, the box underpass has fill above the structure which will help disperse the load which will be important in maximizing the assessed capacity of the structure. My question is: what is the best method of representing the fill above the structure to allow for load dispersal from live load?

I have considered increasing the wheel contact area to represent dispersal, inserting a mesh over the structure to represent soil properties, and factoring the applied loading. However, I am also keen to use the influence surface generator for the efficiency benefit it brings so I don't think I can factor the applied load and still use the influence surface generator.

My model currently has the carriageway directly onto the FE elements as shown below:

lee_williams1_0-1701785050173.png

I am hoping the advice will be applicable in the application of not only ALL Model 1 loading, but also for the application of HB,SV, and SOV loading too.

Thanks in advance,

Lee

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
dave_geeves
in reply to: lee_williams1

Hi,