Announcements
Due to scheduled maintenance, the Autodesk Community will be inaccessible from 10:00PM PDT on Oct 16th for approximately 1 hour. We appreciate your patience during this time.
Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Revit Architecture for model railroading

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
Anonymous
452 Views, 1 Reply

Revit Architecture for model railroading

Dear Forum Members

I am a model railroad hobbyist on weekends, engineer by day (in oil and gas, not construction industry).  I am not an architect nor have I used Autocad in several years.  But I am interested in re-learning it, with the intent of using it to generate a 3D 1/87th scale model of a Victorian-style train station (St Pancras in London), then print the components (walls, roof, masonry arches, roof trusses, etc) on a 3D printer.  I want this to be a hgh fidelity model, which probably rules out traditional model building techniques that employ glued up trips and structural shapes of styrene.   

I understand this is a huge learning curve I am embarking on but I don't mind if it takes me a year to get good enough at Autocad to even start printing the first piece. 

Most of the 3D printing apps seem more suited at printing a solid object, or at least something that is one piece.  Since this station model would be a couple feet across when completed, this would not be practical.  I am writing to this forum because I see HSB Labs has a Revit Addon that breaks up a 3D model of a house into components and prints it out like a kit that you can assemble.  I think this is essentially what I need.