@jlucero wrote:
if it means overwriting our locals everytime we open our projects. To me, it just doesn't make sense.
You still haven't looked at the other option that is available when you open from the central model, even after I pointed it out earlier? I believe that does not delete your back-ups.
Your logic is so very flawed about local files. They should not be used as back-ups for the central model. They can be used for getting bits and pieces from in case someone hasn't been playing well in the model but back-ups for the project, not, no, never. There are much better ways to do that. Now, if the central model gets corrupted, a local file could get you out of a difficult situation but I haven't seen that in many years. The last time that was necessary was when an inexperienced user opened the central without creating a new local while there were a number of users actively working in locals.
Shoot, just yesterday, I found myself in a situation that required me to roll back the central model. The first time in a long time. It was a project that I wasn't familiar with and I was deleting some, what appeared to be, unnecessary views that contained callouts. The views were not categorized and were under the "?" category. Luckily, I hadn't done much between deleting and discovering the issues that it caused and no one else was working on the project, otherwise I would have had to recreate work that I didn't do in the first place.
Again, saving back-ups of local files is unnecessary and redundant. Nothing wrong with CYA and, when working with inexperienced/not properly trained users, you can't have too much CYA. Elsewise, it's overkill and possibly erroneous thinking.
Rob
Drafting is a breeze and Revit doesn't always work the way you think it should.