Revit Architecture Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Architecture Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Architecture topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Adaptive Component - Angle to Drive Geometery

16 REPLIES 16
Message 1 of 17
aguterHFKHP
1181 Views, 16 Replies

Adaptive Component - Angle to Drive Geometery

I have been working on an adaptive component (I am new to these) that works well in the adaptive component family editor, but when loaded into the project, acts very differently.

The parameter in question is the angle parameter, which measures the angle created between (3) adaptive points.

post1.PNG

post2.PNG

In the family editor, this parameter flexes and updates nicely and is used to drive more geometry for the family, but when loaded into a revit project, it does not update based on the angle created between the points. I have tried making this parameter a instance, reporting parameter, but it appears that those cannot be used in formulas to drive more geometry.

In the image below, you can see that the angle created between points 1,2 and 3 is more closer to 45 degrees, revit will not automatically update this parameter for me.

post3.PNG
Any ideas on how to solve this? Family attached.

Labels (1)
16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
aguterHFKHP
in reply to: aguterHFKHP

After some reading on reporting parameters and angles in the adaptive component family, it seems like the angle parameter is not the best way to achieve the family I had in mind.

I have setup the law of cosines and able to calculate the internal angle more consistently now.

https://forum.dynamobim.com/t/use-of-reporting-parameters-in-formulas/256

Message 3 of 17
barthbradley

Yeah, kind of "pointless" with Adaptive Points. Best your Angle Parameter might do in this case, is be a Reporting Parameter.  

Angle Report.png

Message 4 of 17
ToanDN