Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Section view

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
ahmed.errazak
919 Views, 10 Replies

Section view

Hello, there is someone who could tell me why it does not work ONLY in SECTIONVIEW ?
Here is an example of my program (sorry I am a beginner)
and still sorry for my English (google translate (° _ °))

{
Transaction Trans = new Transaction(Doc);
Trans.Start("Draw Xref");
Autodesk.Revit.ApplicationServices.Application application = Doc.Application;
XYZ pt1 = Sel.PickPoint("Get First Point");
XYZ pt2 = Sel.PickPoint("Get Second Point");
XYZ VectAngle = pt2 - pt1;
double RadAngle = VectAngle.AngleTo(XYZ.BasisX);
double X3, Y3;
double X0, Y0;
int linelength = 150000;
X0 = ((linelength * Math.Cos(RadAngle + Math.PI)) + pt1.X);
Y0 = ((linelength * Math.Sin(RadAngle + Math.PI)) + pt1.Y);
X3 = ((linelength * Math.Cos(RadAngle)) + pt2.X);
Y3 = ((linelength * Math.Sin(RadAngle)) + pt2.Y);
XYZ Pt0 = new XYZ(X0, Y0, pt1.Z);
XYZ Pt3 = new XYZ(X3, Y3, pt2.Z);
Line geomLine = Line.CreateBound(Pt0, Pt3);
DetailLine line1 = Doc.Create.NewDetailCurve(MView, geomLine) as DetailLine;
Trans.Commit();
}

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11

Dear Ahmed,

Thank you for your query.

If you are new to the Revit API, and maybe to programming in general, I first of all welcome you to this topic and forum!

Before diving any deeper into programming more complex tasks, I would suggest that you work through the Revit API beginners material, especially the video tutorial:

https://thebuildingcoder.typepad.com/blog/about-the-author.html#2

That will explain all the important basics, deepen your understanding, and clarify many questions up front.