Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Create .rvt file from C#

9 REPLIES 9
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
1887 Views, 9 Replies

Create .rvt file from C#

Hello. 

I am a software developer and I am very new to Revit or Autocad. For a project, I need to create .rvt file from C# using the Revit API. I do not want to develop a plugin, I want to simply be able to draw objects and save them in a file .rvt extension so that the end user can just double click on this file and open it directly in Revit. 

I am unable to figure out a way to do this since the API documentation suggests its usage for building plugins. 

Please help me finding a solution how to create .rvt files. 

Thank you 

Tags (3)
Labels (1)
9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
joshua.lumley
in reply to: Anonymous

I think you need a 'macro'.  Start by copying a blank project. 

Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: joshua.lumley

Hi. Thank you for your reply. Can you please share any blank projects for me to get started?

Message 4 of 10
joshua.lumley

All you need to do is to create new, choose <none>, choose metric or imperial, save it where you need it. And there you go.

Message 5 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: joshua.lumley

Hi, I do not want to create a plug in. I don't want to have to open Revit. I just want to write a rvt file from a C# program (without opening Revit, like writing a text file from a C# program) so that the .rvt file can be shared and may be opened elsewhere on the Revit software for later use. 

Message 6 of 10
joshua.lumley

Attached are the files you wanted. 

Message 7 of 10
heba.eiz

Have you found a way to create a new .rvt file from c#? I have been looking for the same thing but all in vein 

Tags (3)
Message 8 of 10
MiguelGT17
in reply to: heba.eiz