Revit API Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit API Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit API topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Converting All Parameter Values from Imperial Units to Metric Units

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
imaliasad
5843 Views, 7 Replies

Converting All Parameter Values from Imperial Units to Metric Units

Following up @jeremytammik solution on converting imperial unit to metric unit here. It's hard for me to figure out which enumeration value of DisplayUnitType to choose for all parameters. Because all parameter may have values in different format i.e mm, V, VA. 

As my background is from software engineering I have very little technical knowledge of AEC industry. Currently, I'm retrieving the properties values in imperial units and I'd like to know, does Revit-API provides any easy way to automatically convert the return value format of any type-parameter to metric units. Because I cannot determine which DisplayUnityType enum I should use to get the value in the right format.  I hope there should be a way to achieve this functionality. Appreciate any help.

Thank you

- Ali

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
jeremytammik
in reply to: imaliasad

I do not think there is a generic method to convert all imperial units to metric.

Basically, Revit uses standard metric SI units for everything except length, which is in feet.

This is (almost) the only non-SI unit used.

You will probably need to implement a conversion for each unit type you encounter.

It is probably quite easy once you understand the basic principles.

I looked at The Building Coder category on units:

Here are the posts that look most useful to me to help answer your question:

I hope this helps and look forward to hearing how you end up solving this.

Cheers,

Jeremy

Jeremy Tammik
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network, ADN Open
The Building Coder

Message 3 of 8
imaliasad