Community
PowerMill Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s PowerMill Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular PowerMill topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Programming a HMC with Powermill and outputting B-Axis positioning moves

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
bmartin
531 Views, 7 Replies

Programming a HMC with Powermill and outputting B-Axis positioning moves

I am pretty new to PowerMill. In our main shop we use GibbsCam to program our HMC's. I have also used MasterCam and Esprit in prior roles for the same. Right now I am providing programming support to our other shop that uses PowerMill. They do some hand editing due to post issues on each program. Most look pretty straightforwad and I think I can solve. My main struggle with PowerMill is that it does not put out any B-Axis positioning moves for our HMC. We are doing blocks with side-holes and I gotta imagine there is a way for PowerMill to determine a B90 or B-90 is needed based on the planes. Can anyone point me in the needed direction to get that output?

Tags (3)
Labels (2)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Sean570
in reply to: bmartin

What is the manufacturer for your HMC?  Obviously the post you use isn't properly configured for the machine. Powermill does have some generic posts that that may or may not work for your machine. But typically you would want to contact your Powermill reseller and ask them for a post or support to fix the one you currently use. 

That said you could edit the post yourself using the Autodesk manufacturing post processor utility, but I would not advise it, unless you know exactly what you are doing and only if it is a minor change. 

Message 3 of 8
bmartin
in reply to: Sean570