Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with separating parts for multicolor 3d print

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
zieschang
2680 Views, 9 Replies

Problem with separating parts for multicolor 3d print

Hi,

I'm having a problem with meshmixer. I'm a chemist and trying to print a multicolor crystal structure (I have a 3d printer with a multi color upgrade). To do that I produce an .stl of the crystal structure.

.stl after importing.stl after importing

Then I make it into a solid so it's ready for 3d printing.

made into a solidmade into a solid

I then create face groups of the parts I want as separate .stls and generate a complex (auto-generate).

face groupsface groupscomplex generatedcomplex generated

complex generated from other sidecomplex generated from other side

this is when the first problem occurs. The green lines seem to indicate an error (?) because in the next step, when I try to split the complex they turn into red lines and will not split from the rest of the stl.

red lines after complex splitred lines after complex split

I've tried quite a few different solidification variants and sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I don't have the problem at the same face group every time. Does anyone know a better way to do it?

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
MagWeb
in reply to: zieschang

The issue your facing is that GenerateComplex is that this tool works only for a single boundary towards the same group. In your case the sphere groups are connected to a single tube group at least two times. If such a case happens GenerateComplex creates a single complex surface only. This is indicated by the green lines. They are no errors but the  cases where the tool did its job. All other "intersections" are not filled and leave an open boundary (blue).