Community
Meshmixer
Welcome to Autodesk’s Meshmixer Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Meshmixer topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with Boolean Difference with detailed / curved objects

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
1438 Views, 4 Replies

Problem with Boolean Difference with detailed / curved objects

Hello,

I have installed multiple applications to attempt to achieve my goal and have been unsuccessful so far and I'm losing hair.  Hopefully Meshmixer is the correct tool, but I keep getting errors on the Boolean Difference. Also, I am fairly new to the 3D realm but am a technical IT guy.
My goal is to take the core (middle section) of an American football model that I got on Thingiverse and perform a Boolean Difference with a team logo to make a cut out of the logo so I can print it separately and glue them together afterward.
I REALLY want to curve the logo to conform with the curvature of the football, but I could not figure that out for the life of me.  So I was just going to cut out the shape using the logo as is, but for some reason I couldn't figure out how or the methods I saw online just wouldn't work, even though they seemed so easy to do...

I also wanted to do the same thing with text (cut it out and print the text separately) and have it follow the curve of the football as well.  This would be for a name and player number.  With Sketchup, this task is called "draping" the text on the curved shape.  I couldn't even get Sketchup to load my stl files.

If there is a better application to use for this, I am all ears!

I've attached the core of the football and the team logo stl files.  The team logo needs to be scaled down and rotated to fit.  I included a screenshot of what I want it to look like in regards to positioning.  For some reason I can't get any app to simply cut the shape out of the football!

Please help!

Labels (2)
4 REPLIES 4