Community
Maya Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Objects distorted behind glass material

13 REPLIES 13
Message 1 of 14
Anonymous
6144 Views, 13 Replies

Objects distorted behind glass material

Hello, 

Im currently going through the process of adding materials to my Audi R8 model however the interior has been distored by the glass material I'm using for the windscreen? How do I stop this? 

Thanks

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
damaggio
in reply to: Anonymous

I would guess is your refraction settings,,, might be too high, are you using a mia x or blinn ... What is your shader?
Message 3 of 14
Anonymous
in reply to: damaggio

I'm using mia x and I dont know what shader I've used? How can you tell? Silly question maybe but I'm fairly new at all this haha

Message 4 of 14
damaggio

Find your Mia x in the Hypershape window, there are presets there already made for you, they are great as a starting point, choose "Glass Thin" and you are done, just remember this is a shader that has under Advanced Refraction "Thin Walled" enable which does not calculate refractions , it is very useful for windows on buildings but for your car you "do" need refraction ,so choose "Solid" .

Refraction of glass is 1.500 and is already set.

Under BRDF is set to "Use Fresnel" ...if it looks okay you can leave as is but I usually adjust this value myself...somewhere around 0 degree reflection = .09 and leave always 90 degree reflection =1.0

Do your car entirely with Mias, it will look much more photo realistic.

Message 5 of 14
Anonymous

Still no luck.. 😕 Applied the settings as you have suggested and still getting the distorted refractions? 

Message 6 of 14
Anonymous

Solved it! Had to add gamma correction the the base layer colour and thats seems to have done the trick 

Thanks for the help