Community
Maya Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to Color Manage Arnold images to set images to a Gamma Value of 2.2

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
eyad09
1684 Views, 4 Replies

How to Color Manage Arnold images to set images to a Gamma Value of 2.2

Hi, I'm relatively new to Maya advanced Rendering. I'm currently working on a short animation clip where I'm utilizing Arnold renderer. When I set the gamma value in my Arnold render view to a value of 2.2 the coloring is precisely what I want. Since I'm using Render Sequence I understand that I must utilize color management to achieve a similar color to what a 2.2 gamma setting shows. I searched this issue and tried various things ranging from changing my light color space to raw and editing my Color Management preference settings, to changing the file format outputs and using raw instead of view transforms, etc, But nothing seems to work. If anyone knows how to utilize color management to achieve a gamma setting of 2.2?

In my project there are 4 lights, a directional light, two spot lights, and an Arnold area light.

The first photo is with a gamma value of 1.1, second sis the desired gamma 2.2, and the 3rd is just a picture of the project.

Thank you!
Capture.JPGCapture2.JPGCapture3.JPG

Labels (3)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
mspeer
in reply to: eyad09

Hi!

Your first image already has the "correct" gamma of 2.2 applied by using the View transform "sRGB gamma".

Your second image has additional 2.2 applied (which is technical not correct).

If you want a different look for your scene you could

a) adjust the lights and shaders in the scene

b) create your own color transform

c) Do some color correction in post.

For me c) looks like the most easy and comfortable solution.

Message 3 of 5
eyad09
in reply to: mspeer

Hi!