Community
Maya Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Displacement map issue, mesh is inflated at render

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
jrebuffat
11491 Views, 5 Replies

Displacement map issue, mesh is inflated at render

Hello,

I am new to displacement map and today I wanted to try it out, so i created a model in zbrush, did the uv and all the stuff to get a good displacement map, now inside maya I import my low poly model and add a AiStandarSurface shader to the model then plug a file to the disp mat, switch to catclark and enable auto bump.

And now when I render my mesh, it look fat, so i tweaked a few thing and found out that when I tweak the scale on the displacement Shader it reduce the fatness of the model, but also make the detail drop at the same time, so i ended up with nothing in result…

Here is 2 pictures with the scale at 1 and scale at 0.

Hope we can find a solution for this, it may be completely stupid but I’ve been stuck on this for a few hours now and can’t figure it out even with lots of google searches…

Thanks you !

I have attached a zipped folder if you want to try the geo and map by yourself. 

55b0821a9b9cfa951900b86a27afff6a4f9140b4.jpg866c9f0762c25e46fdcb00f49085840bac0bdb90.pngscale of .5 in the disp atributescale of .5 in the disp atribute

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
mspeer
in reply to: jrebuffat

Hi!

I can't open this rar file.

Make sure to set mid color and Color Space correct.

Color range (-1 to 1 / black) or (0 to 1 / grey)?!

Color Space for file node maybe "RAW"?!

Message 3 of 6
jrebuffat
in reply to: mspeer

Hello,

Tanks for the answer, yeah i think I am right on the color space of the file node, mine is set to RAW, and my color range is grey.