Community
Maya Programming
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya SDK topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Coding challenge! Please help me achieve this effect

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
jmollot
287 Views, 2 Replies

Coding challenge! Please help me achieve this effect

If anyone is up to it I have an effect I’m trying to create in Maya. I’m new to using MEL and/or python and/or expressions in Maya. That being said I do have significant experience coding in Java.  I would appreciate if anyone could give me some tips on how to achieve the effect I’m going after as I learn to program in Maya, or alternatively I would of course be grateful if anyone simply wants to write up the code…here’s the plan:

I want to do something to a specified object. Here is psuedocode for what I want to do - first create an empty dynamic/array list (let’s call it “vertexList”) that will eventually contain contain tuples that contain two things - the tuples will be 1) a vertex, and 2) a list containing three float numbers….then every six frames do this: for each vertex of the object {