Community
Maya Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reset pivot point to original position and rotation

13 REPLIES 13
SOLVED
Message 1 of 14
Anonymous
84433 Views, 13 Replies

Reset pivot point to original position and rotation

I'm quite new to Maya and, as a result, have made a general mess of a lot of my workspace, in particular, my objects' pivot points.

Earlier, I grouped a load of objects (some of which had been rotated around) together, which seemed to set their pivot point to the world origin (0, 0, 0). I have since separated the objects and want the pivot point of each to be exactly like they were before I made the group, i.e., centred and with the correct rotation.

I have tried resetting the pivot point, but this only puts it back in the right position, and the rotation of it still follows the world axes. I've included a screenshot with the Scale tool selected where you can see that the axes it brings up are off in relation to the way the object is rotated.

Does anyone know of a way of fixing this, or at least a workaround? I can't edit things like this!

Tags (2)
13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
pshwayka
in reply to: Anonymous

Select each object and click Modify->Center Pivot...and double click on the move tool to open its settings, then choose the Axis Orientation you want from the dropdown list, or hit Reset to reset the orientation to world axis.

Message 3 of 14
Anonymous
in reply to: pshwayka

Unfortunately, that's not what I'm looking for as it doesn't fully reset the axes.

This is a new cylinder I've spawned in to hopefully show you what I mean:

In this, the green axis is pointing directly along the cylinder. Currently, I have not found a way to reset it to look like this.

Message 4 of 14
J450NP13

Go into your tool settings and hit the world coord.

Message 5 of 14
pshwayka