cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Stop prompting to save an empty scene

Stop prompting to save an empty scene

(Copied from original User Voice forum)

 

"If I open Maya and then go to file > open, Maya prompts me to save the empty scene it created when it opened.
It also auto-saves blank scenes if I leave it open for a while. "

25 Comments
trevor.adams
Alumni

Yup, this is definitely getting the attention it's long deserved. We've managed to solve this in our internal in-development builds, so now it's just a question of getting that fix out to you folks. Stay tuned (... and thanks for hanging in there!).

trevor.adams
Alumni
Status changed to: Implemented

Solved.

 

Starting in Maya 2022, you should no longer be prompted to save a scene that hasn't been changed. We will continue to test/monitor for corner cases where this may be happening, but the main issue of starting Maya, then either exiting or opening a scene leading Maya to prompt to you to save what is essentially an unchanged, empty scene - that is now fixed.

 

Check out what's new in Maya 2022 by watching this highlight video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CyPkTeJ9vJ8) or by reviewing the What's New section in the latest docs (https://help.autodesk.com/view/MAYAUL/2022/ENU/?guid=GUID-90A9A2C7-C8E3-4B4E-8C94-63553069F51E). Thanks for your patience in waiting for us to solve this longstanding issue.

Srlookas2
Observer

I have deleted Maya pref folder and now it doesn't pop up. It is something from the userPrefs.mel file...

Or at least that's in my case.

damaggio
Mentor

Maya still asks to save empty scene in Maya 2023, I thought you guys had fixed that.(We need a button)🤔

Please can we have this feature stick.I have recently updated to windows 10 with brand new preferences and

after working with the new system for about 2 months the warning is back.

david_mora4REA9
Community Visitor

Could be very nice to link Bookmarks at the time slider with the red marks, you move the red mark and you tick a button at the Bookmark Manager and the markers are link.

 

Once that you move the mark at the Tslider the mark move... (I`ve Attached an image). 🙂Screenshot 2026-03-19 132335.png

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.

Submit Idea