Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Arnold 2017 and I have some questions

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
487 Views, 7 Replies

New to Arnold 2017 and I have some questions

Hi guys!

I am new to Maya 2017 and Arnold. I have some questions. Firstly, how do I update maya? I still dont have the Arnold Material Presets and I dont know how to install them. Thank you in advance!

Alex

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Mark.Lancaster
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous

Well Maya is updated through your Autodesk Account or the Autodesk web site (but it depends on if the update is subscription based or a normal update that everybody gets).  However if you are a student using the free version, there are known issues about students not being able to see or install any updates (and Autodesk is working on it).  Secondly is this Maya for Windows or Maya for OS?

If its Maya for OS, its not an update, its a complete new install.  In the end I'm not a Maya and Arnold user and I have no clue about missing Arnold Material presets.  Although you are asking installation questions, you may get a better responses/solution/answer by asking this question over in the Maya forum.   Good luck.

Mark Lancaster

&  Autodesk Services MarketPlace Provider

Autodesk Inventor Certified Professional & not an Autodesk Employee

Likes is much appreciated if the information I have shared is helpful to you and/or others

Did this resolve your issue? Please accept it "As a Solution" so others may benefit from it.

Message 3 of 8
natasha.l

Hello @Anonymous,

Welcome back. 

This is correct you can also make sure you do not already have it installed. Make sure it installed "mtoa.mll" in the Control Panel (you can try repair) & check within the program. Please review this article: Arnold is not showing up as renderer in Maya 2017