Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maya 7 software

18 REPLIES 18
Message 1 of 19
nigeanthedogs
2328 Views, 18 Replies

Maya 7 software

Hi,I have some brand new Maya 7 and Maya 7.0.1 software boxed and wrapped.I really want to learn this but as they are quite old 2010 are they still good as im a complete novice and there's a few I was wondering what they are worth ,many thanks,nige.

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
mspeer
in reply to: nigeanthedogs

Hi!

Without a valid license it's worth nothing.

Even with a license it very likely will not run on modern systems and it will be hard to find a project that justifies the usage of this old software.

Currently i can think only of 2 cases:

1. There is an old project, that does only open in this Maya version.

2. You need some modeling work done and the modeller is only familiar with older Maya versions.

If you want to do something based on current tech, you need an actual 3d software version.

Message 3 of 19
DarrenP

Also Autodesk has stopped activations for 2010 & older even if you install it you will not be able to activate it even if you have serial number

DarrenP
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 4 of 19
Christoph_Schaedl
in reply to: DarrenP

Just grab Blender and learn the basics. Its free.

Its no problem to jump later onto Maya if needed.

----------------------------------------------------------------
https://linktr.ee/cg_oglu
Message 5 of 19
kingroaw

I also have a version of maya 7 that i purchased back in 2005 that I need to reinstall and relicense. Would be great to use what i paid for.

Message 6 of 19
Anonymous
in reply to: kingroaw

read entire thread again

this was explained already