Community
Maya Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't delete an object - error line "No object matches name: nameoftheobject:"

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
fuensantaolmos2016
10374 Views, 7 Replies

Can't delete an object - error line "No object matches name: nameoftheobject:"

Hey there! I'm a student using Maya 2018. I combined two different meshes using Mesh > Combine and obtained a single object (I don't know if it's important to note that I was using the UV Editing workspace). After that, I tried to delete that object because I needed to, but Maya keeps sending me the error line "doDelete.mel line 37: No object matches name: BAG_bell1_f_1:". I tried deleting the history of the object and rebooting Maya but the problem persists (BAG_bell1_f_1: is the name of the object I obtained upon making the aforementioned actions).

Any ideas on how to solve this? 😞

Thank you so much

Student
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
mspeer
in reply to: fuensantaolmos2016

Hi!

Please upload the scene-file.

Message 3 of 8
zombiejump2012
in reply to: mspeer

Hi

My boyfriend's maya scene has the same problem, I've tried to change nodes name, or assign different shader none of it seems work. The mesh can be duplicated in order to edit. In addition, the scene cant be saved as mb file neither. 

Message 4 of 8
mspeer
in reply to: zombiejump2012

Hi!

I can't help further without a scene-file.

The second problem is because of a missing plug-in that's needed for some nodes to enable a proper conversion of the used file type.

Load (maybe install first) the required plug-in or simply delete those nodes.

Message 5 of 8

I had the same thing happen to me. I combined a mesh with the UV editor open and it gave me pCube534_f_0:Shape which I couldn't delete, edit, or rename.