Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why Maya Doesn't Have a Poses Manager like Studio Library?

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
rooseveltrrp
4898 Views, 5 Replies

Why Maya Doesn't Have a Poses Manager like Studio Library?

Hey, Autodesk,

I am fairly new to Maya, so pardon me if I have overlooked anything. Coming from tools like Daz/Poser or iClone, Maya's workflow is a bit different.

I particularly love Maya's character rigging tool and the ability to make rock solid animations on the fly. However, it sucks when it comes to saving preset poses (unless I'm missing something).

I tried out two tools within Maya so far. The Pose Editor under "Windows -> Animation Editors -> Pose Editor" and the pose tool under the Trax Editor.

It seems like the first pose editor is a bit misleading. It appears to fix mesh deformation issues rather than saving preset poses, and the Pose tool under Trax is tied to a specific scene. So, I can't access the saved poses from the Visor on another project or a scene. I looked at the Atom format as well, and it's geared towards animations.

I dig Studio Library, but it's a bit buggy. So, hence my search for a cool tool.

Here's what I want to do.

I want the fastest way to use preset poses, mirror them and apply to different characters. Any Biped character with a skeleton can be mapped to Maya's Control Rig. So, I don't see why we can't save specific poses out of Maya's Control Rig and apply them to different Biped models after they are characterized with Maya's control rig -_-