Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unwanted Joint Rotation When Moving Foot Control (Video Included)

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
kh19aah
1417 Views, 6 Replies

Unwanted Joint Rotation When Moving Foot Control (Video Included)

The left foot controls work fine but trying to rig the right side has somehow caused strange rotations in the joints when the controller is moved. Would anybody know the cause of this? I'm not sure if it has anything to do with me mirroring the controllers by duplicating then setting the X axis scale to -1 so it flips on the other side.

I'd like the foot to stay planted on the controller, I'm also a beginner at rigging. Any input is appreciated. 🙂

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
hamsterHamster
in reply to: kh19aah

Even the controls are mirror-scaled, it likely is happening because of different joints axis orientations for left and right side. Just a guess, as it is impossible to tell 100% without seeing the rig itself. Post zipped MA if you want more input.

,,,_°(O__O)°_,,,
Maya2019.1 @ Windows10 & GeForce GTX1080Ti

If the post was helpful, click the
 ACCEPT SOLUTION  button, so others might find it much more easily.

Message 3 of 7
stephenkmann

Looks like the "bad" ankles have double constraints on them, or bad matching constraint objects . 

I would rebuild the constraints on those , and double check that the objects the joints are constrained to, match exactly to the joints rotations .  ( in rigging you rarely want to use "maintain offset" on your constraints, so it's possible that there is offset causing the issue. ) 

hth

-=s

Message 4 of 7
kh19aah
in reply to: hamsterHamster

Thank you for the suggestions so far, here's the file for the rig to have a look at.