Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

save animation as video

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
2734 Views, 9 Replies

save animation as video

hi

I'm a beginner in animation but I finaly made my first simple animation.

i want to save it as a video file, preferable mp4.

i can't find how to do this in maya.

jessica

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
mspeer
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi!

Render out an image sequence and create the final compressed movie in a video application. Maya can't do this (and this also should not be done in Maya).

Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: mspeer

Using google I found it's possible to save as AVI video.

Was this feature removed then in newer versions of maya?

Message 4 of 10
Anonymous

I think it's beyond the scope of this forum but can anybody tell me free software that can make a video of the image sequence rendered by maya?

thx

Message 5 of 10
mspeer

Hi!

You can only use AVI for playblasts, if you try this with Maya Software Rendering you only get one single image, so this does not work. Arnold does not support AVI anyway.

As I said before you need to render an image sequence and then you need any video application to create your final movie file.

There are plenty of cheap video applications available on the market that can do this.

You should be able to find a video software easily by using an online search.

Message 6 of 10
Anonymous

Since I don't want to spend money on this video slftware, I found a free tool ffmpeg

https://ottverse.com/create-video-from-images-using-ffmpeg/

As you can read , I need to specify the frames per second.
Can you tell me please where to enter the fps in maya renderer and also the number of fps I need for an animation. It should be played on a TV.

i'm a complete beginner...