Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Move the joint after skinned without change the shape of the model.

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
33382 Views, 8 Replies

Move the joint after skinned without change the shape of the model.

Hello,

I am new in Maya, but I encountered a big problem. 

The question is that I wanted to change the position of the joint after skinned without changing the shape of the model.

So I searched the information on Google, they said I can use the tool of "move skinned joint tool", but I can't find it on menu.

(I use 2017 version of Maya)

I wonder to know how to unbind the model and the bone so that I could move the single joint?

Also, the adjustment will not remove the skin weight I set before when I bind them together again.

Really appreciated for your help and kind reply.

Thanks.

螢幕快照 2017-05-08 下午7.16.10.png

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
kirbysteele
in reply to: Anonymous

Hey youe.shih,

In answer to your first question, the move skinned joints tool is located under the Skin tab. The trick is that you need to have the dropdown (right below the file tab) in the top left set to rigging. I attached a screen shot.

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 9.32.13 AM.png

In answer to your second question, once you "unbind" a model you are by definition getting rid of the skin weights on the mesh. But you can save that information by using the export skin weights option. This will export an image file for each joint which saves the skin weight information. Then you can unbind the mesh and move the joint to wherever you want, rebind the mesh to the skeleton and then use the import skin weights tool. I attached a screen pic showing where there tools are located. I will say that I have had mixed results with this method, but it is possible.