Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a way for me to copy over a rig to another Character

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
tevin93
16673 Views, 4 Replies

Is there a way for me to copy over a rig to another Character

I am working on two characters that have the same mesh and same armour pieces. I have managed to create a full rig with controls and driven keys for the hands as well as a IK_FK switch for one of the characters. Is there a way for me to copy over that rig to the other character without losing the driven keys and all the other stuff that I have done.  I want to try and not the work I have done and have to do it all over again for the second character as I am not good with rigging and most of this was done through a tutorial on youtube.Or is there a way I can create the quick rig with the finger joints 

Both characters have the same geometrey and armour pieces with the only difference being that one of them does not have the head mesh in the hood but instead has a maskBoth characters have the same geometrey and armour pieces with the only difference being that one of them does not have the head mesh in the hood but instead has a maskHandcontrol that has driven keys and the IK_FK switchHandcontrol that has driven keys and the IK_FK switchDriven keys and IK_FK_SwitchDriven keys and IK_FK_Switch

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
stephenkmann
in reply to: tevin93

seems like you can just save your file. 

import in the mask , and bind it to your rig.

, delete the hood

and save it as the second character file

or just include the mask in the original rig, with a switch to hide/show the mask and hood

hth

Message 3 of 5
tevin93
in reply to: stephenkmann