Community
Maya Animation and Rigging
Welcome to Autodesk’s Maya Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Maya animation topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exporting Animation Questoins

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
Anonymous
548 Views, 11 Replies

Exporting Animation Questoins

Hi, I'm extremely new to Maya, and I'm learning on my own, and was wondering someone can tell me how to export my animation so I can e-mail it friends and family and they can view it? I'm unfamiliar with the file formats as far as like .fdx and such, so I'm completely in the dark when it comes to exporting/saving.

Also, I've read conflicting tutorials on animation and some say to make sure the "Auto Keyframe toggle" is red, other state that it isn't important, so I'm still not sure what that does yet, can someone shed some light?

Lastly, when I preview an animation in maya its speeds through like 200 frames in 1 second, so my animations have to be like 15k frames long just to see a ball roll down a short ramp and it goes at super speeds, can someone tell me how to change that to go back to the 24FPS (Which I think is suppose to be default)?

Thanks in advance!

~Snypr
11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Alright, so first off you want to render it as a movie you have to go to Render Settings, there's a button for it on the status line (if you hover over it it will say Display Render Settings on the tool tip line, but it looks like a clapperboard with two circles on it's left.)

Now that you're in the render settings, give your animation a name by typing it in the file name prefix. Go to image format and change it to a video format like AVI, then type in the start and end frames. Also make sure the renderable camera is perspective or camera1 or whatever view you want to render.