Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trouble understanding = function

1 REPLY 1
SOLVED
Message 1 of 2
LF377951
115 Views, 1 Reply

Trouble understanding = function

I started learning Inventor last month and I only recently learned to write iLogic code a week ago. I am having a problem with understanding the = function because it seems to not work each time I use it. Both times I have encountered this issue I was trying to make the length of 2 objects equal to each other. I attached the form below so you can see what it looks like, as you can see there are two parts [BP and TP] and in the code I wrote:

BP_Length = TP_Length.

I then attempted to adjust BP_Length to be 100mm longer and it and the BP length immediately reverted, but the TP_Length increased to be 100mm longer. Then I reverted the length change and tried changing the TP_Length instead this time I was successful in changing BP_Length. 

The second time I attempted to two lengths equal I created two blocks and attempted to recreate the issue by writing the same code: Length = Length1. The same problem occurred where one dimension controlled the other but not vice versa. My solution was to write two lines of code instead. [Length = Length1] and [Length1 = Length]. I then tried to adjust the [Length] by 5mm, [Length1] increased by 5mm and [Length] reverted - the same problem as before had occurred. 

I showed the problem to my boss and he told me that i should create a user parameter and dimension both of the Lengths to it because "The Length's are fighting each other when they adjust". I created a new parameter Gen_Length and then dimension both Lengths to it and it worked.