Announcements
Due to scheduled maintenance, the Autodesk Community will be inaccessible from 10:00PM PDT on Oct 16th for approximately 1 hour. We appreciate your patience during this time.
Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CREATING A FEATURE BASED PATTERN FROM A PART FEATURE

0 REPLIES 0
Message 1 of 1
phani.gampala
126 Views, 0 Replies

CREATING A FEATURE BASED PATTERN FROM A PART FEATURE

Hello Everyone,

goal: I'm want to constrain fasteners placed in an assembly by picking the proxy faces and then create a feature based pattern of the fasteners if the hole feature in the part is patterned.

I'm not a programmer but I'm learning and was able to place and constrain the fasteners to a part hole based on the a few reference codes I have come across. However, I can't figure out the logic to creating a pattern of the fasteners.

The code needs to:

1. check if the hole feature the fastener is constrained to was patterned or not. If there is no pattern, then exit.

2. If there is a pattern, then create a feature based pattern of the collection created.

oApp = ThisApplication
Dim oDoc As Document = oApp.ActiveDocument	
Dim oCompDef As AssemblyComponentDefinition = oDoc.ComponentDefinition
Dim oAllOcc As ComponentOccurrences
Dim oOcc As ComponentOccurrence
Dim oPart1 As ComponentOccurrence
Dim oPart2 As ComponentOccurrence

Do
Dim oHole1 As Face
oHole1 = ThisApplication.CommandManager.Pick(SelectionFilterEnum.kPartFaceCylindricalFilter, "Pick Bolt/Washer Cylindrical Face, Press Esc to cancel")
If oHole1 Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
oPart1 = oHole1.ContainingOccurrence
Dim oFP1 As FaceProxy
oPart1.CreateGeometryProxy(oHole1, oFP1)