Inventor Nastran Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’sInventor Nastran Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor Nastran topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pin and universal joint between bodies

9 REPLIES 9
SOLVED
Message 1 of 10
Anonymous
1940 Views, 9 Replies

Pin and universal joint between bodies

Hi,

I'm completely new to Autodesk Nastran in-cad. 

I need to model pinned and universal joints between bodies in an assembly. How do I go about to do this?

With a universal joint I mean that the bodies are connected by spherical bearings that allow rotation around all axis, but are fixed in translation, hence the joint can not transfer moments.

Thanks!

Roger

9 REPLIES 9
Message 2 of 10
John_Holtz
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi Roger (@Anonymous)

This post has some information about creating joints between parts of a model: Pinned connection in Autodesk Nastran

It also depends on whether you are performing a linear analysis (which uses small displacements) or nonlinear analysis (which uses large displacements and rotations), and whether you are simulating a joint between the model and the environment, or between two parts of the model. For joints between two parts of the model, one solution is to create separate rigid connectors in each part, and then connect the rigid connectors with beams or springs. use end releases on the beams or low spring stiffness to allow the free rotations about the desired directions. These two figures attempt to show the concept.

Figure 1: Sample JointFigure 1: Sample JointFigure 2: Five Pieces to Create a Pin JointFigure 2: Five Pieces to Create a Pin Joint

John Holtz, P.E.

Global Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

If not provided already, be sure to indicate the version of Inventor Nastran you are using!

"The knowledge you seek is at knowledge.autodesk.com" - Confucius 😉
Message 3 of 10
Anonymous
in reply to: John_Holtz

Hi John (@John_Holtz)