Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will any of these laptops run Inventor well?

14 REPLIES 14
SOLVED
Message 1 of 15
Anonymous
1593 Views, 14 Replies

Will any of these laptops run Inventor well?

I am a student looking to get the student version of Inventor.  My current computer is not powerful enough to run Inventor, so I have listed the laptops I am considering buying below.  I have narrowed the list down to only laptops as I will need to be able to easily transport the rig around campus.  I am also wanting to get a rig that can play games.  So, workstations are off the list.  The main thing I am concerned about is the graphics card.  The laptops below have basically the same specs, except for the graphics card.  Anyway, here is what I have come up with so far:

1.  ASUS ROG STRIX GL502VT-DS74

Display: 1920 x 1080 15.6" FHD display

Processor: Quad Core Skylake i7 6700hq 2.6 GHz (up to 3.5 w/turbo boost)

Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 970M 6 GB GDDR5

RAM: 16 GB DDR4-SDRAM

Storage: 1 TB HDD(7200 RPM) plus 128 GB M.2 SSD

2.  ASUS ROG STRIX GL502VT-DS71

Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 970M 3 GB GDDR5

RAM: 16 GB DDR4-SDRAM(2133 MHz)

3.  ASUS ROG STRIX GL502VY-DS71

Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 980M 4 GB GDDR5 (also an 8 GB 980M version, but really out of my price point)