Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

unable to add spur gear

14 REPLIES 14
SOLVED
Message 1 of 15
Anonymous
1754 Views, 14 Replies

unable to add spur gear

Hi everyone,

I'm having problem adding spur gear to a project. I have a part of a circle/ring and I want to be able to move it through a gear on a shaft. Both of the structures are circular so in my (uninformed) opinion I should be able to make spur gear. But I'm never allowed to select the green part. The idea is that by rotating the shaft the green part will move. It is my first time making any gear connection so I might be overlooking some basics. Could anyone help me make this rotational movement possible? 

Thank you

valinterL7RWA_0-1606158571310.png

Labels (2)
14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
JDMather
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous wrote:

It is my first time...

An assembly must include parts.

In Inventor, these are of the form *.ipt files.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2019 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional

Message 3 of 15
Anonymous
in reply to: JDMather

sorry about that, here they are

Message 4 of 15
JDMather

What gear ratio do you want?

What is you desired center to center distance?

What is your current center to center distance?

JDMather_0-1606164924866.png

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Message 5 of 15
Anonymous

I would like the gear ratio to be 3

Message 6 of 15
JDMather

Do you have any other critical information to share?

Are you working off of an existing design?

Message 7 of 15
Anonymous