Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sheet Metal Thickness Resetting?

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
mslosar
714 Views, 5 Replies

Sheet Metal Thickness Resetting?

I have an assembly based on a master part. It has maybe 15 parts in it. 3 of these parts are unistrut tracks with a sheet metal thickness of .1345".  The assembly is configured through an ilogic form. There's no real ilogic in it, all pieces pull parameters from a master ipt file which is largely a blank part containing all the parameters. 

After updating to 2019 in march, we've run into an oddity. It seems when we toggle a parameter on the form, something is forcing the unistrut pieces sheet metal value to be set to .25". There is no parameter in the file that is .25. Moreover, the value is hard coded. This thickness is being set in the sheet metal rule itself, and not being overridden.  I can't see a reason why an update of a positioning parameter would cause the sheet metal rule to change values.

There are other objects in the assembly that are .25" thick, but they are not directly connected to these parts. Any connection seems fairly loose, except that when i re-corrected the unistrut thicknesses in the main rule, it changed the default value of thickness of these parts to .1345. The sheet metal rule is saved in the ipt isn't it? I'd have to go to Tools/Save in the styles panel to save it to the master to get to update to other files, or so i thought.

Again, this only seems to have occurred after updating to 2019 which we did in march. I made this assembly 18ish months ago and no one reported this issue in at least 100 uses prior.

I would post it, but it's a proprietary assembly and i rather like my job 🙂

Just wondering if anyone has seen anything similar?

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
swalton
in reply to: mslosar